

## 21<sup>st</sup> ADYAR TIMES FIDE RATED OPEN CHESS TOURNAMENT-2023

Sponsored by Adyar Times (The Neighborhood Newspaper, Chennai – 600020)

Organized by Tamil Nadu State Chess Association

1. AICF Approval No: 335766/TN/2023 & TNSCA Approval No:RO-01/TN/23-24

2.Venue: VIDYA PEET Auditorium, Bala Vidya Mandir Senior Secondary School (Affiliated to the Central Board of Secondary Education, New Delhi) 58, B.Ramachandra AdithanarRoad, Gandhi Nagar, Adyar, Chennai-600020

MRTS Railway Station: Kotturpuram

**Bus Stop: Madhya Kailash and Malar Hospital** 

Tournament Period :From 25<sup>th</sup> to 28<sup>th</sup> August, 2023

+ h			
25 <sup>th</sup> August 2023	Friday	Technical Meeting	09.00 A.M.
		Inaugural Ceremony	09.30 A.M.
		Round 1	10.30 A.M.
		Round 2	3.30 P.M.
26 <sup>th</sup> August 2023 Saturday		Round 3	9.30 A.M.
		Round 4	2.30 P.M.
27 <sup>th</sup> August 2023 Sunday		Round 5	9.30 A.M.
		Round 6	2.30 P.M.
28 <sup>th</sup> August 2023	Monday	Round 7	9.00 A.M.
		Round 8	2.00 P.M.
		Closing Ceremony	6.30 P.M.

**4. System of Play:** The latest FIDE Rules in force shall apply and the Swiss system will be followed. Total Eight rounds shall be played.

**5. Time Control:** The rate of play shall be 90 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds per move from move number one.

**6.Default Time:** 30 minutes. Any player who arrives at the chessboard after the default time shall lose the game.

**7.Tie Break :**1.Buchholz cut 1, 2.Buchholz, 3.S.B. 4. Direct encounter, 5. Greater no. of wins (incl. forfeit games), 6. Greater no. of wins with Black pieces.

**8. Appeals Committee:** Before the commencement of the tournament, an appeals committee will be formed from the senior participants present at the players meeting. The appeals committee's decision will be final and binding on all players concerned.

**9. AICF Player's Registration:** All the participants must be registered with AICF as a player. AICF Player registration fee is Rs.300/- for the year 2023-2024. Players who are yet to renew their AICF Player registration can use the below link http://aicf.in/players/ For fresh AICF player registration please click http://aicf.in/online-player-registration/ For fresh AICF player registration, players are requested to keep their scanned passport sizephotograph and birth certificate and a valid email address (unique) not used by any other person/ player for AICF, ready before the registration process.

Note : Only passport size (less than 1MB) photographs in jpeg format should be uploaded. If a player is already registered with AICF he/she should produce proof for the same at the time of registering his/her entry.

**10.TNSCA Player's Registration** is compulsory for all Tamil Nadu players. TNSCA player registration fee is Rs.150/- for the year 2023 – 2024. Players registering with TNSCA should submit duly filled and signed TNSCA Players Registration form along with a copy of their Date of Birth certificate and one passport size photograph.

**11.Chennai DCAPlayer's Registration** fee is Rs.75/- for the year 2023 – 2024 (for Chennai district players only)

12. Complete Silence is to be maintained within the campus.

**13.**The Campus should not be littered.

### 14.Smoking is strictly Prohibited inside the school campus.

**15.Ban on WristWatches** :AICF has banned the wrist watches while playing in FIDE Rated events. Players are instructed not to wear wrist watches while playing.

16. Players should not possess any electronic device like Mobile Phones during the game

### 17.Entry Fee: Rs.1250/- per player.

GMs, WGMs, IMs, & WIMs : Free

Rating with 2300 & Above: Free

Entry fee should be remitted by cheque or a bank draft favoring "**TAMIL NADU STATE CHESS ASSOCIATION**" payable at Chennai or by NEFT transfer to the following bank Account:

Account Name	Tamil Nadu State Chess Association	
Bank	Indian Bank	
A/C No	440756872	
Branch	Park Town Branch	
IFSCcode	IDIB000P024	

Duly filled entry form should be sent to: TAMIL NADU STATE CHESS ASSOCIATION Hall No - 75, JN Stadium, Periamet, Chennai – 600003 Phone: 044 – 25384477/ 25366464 E-Mail: <u>tnchesstmt@gmail.com</u> Website: <u>www.tamilchess.com</u>

Entries can also be paid online through: 1.www.chessfee.com 2.www.chessentry.in 3.www.signinchess.com

After paying the entry fee, please submit the details in the google form given in the following link

# **Gform link: <u>https://forms.gle/AdWtoLkeK6XHWK7v6</u>**

Last Date of Entry: Tuesday, 22<sup>nd</sup>August 2023

For more details please contact:

S.PAUL AROKIA RAJ, IA & FI

### **Coordinator and Chief Arbiter of the Tournament**

Mobile: +91 98404 58484

E-Mail: chesspaul64@gmail.com

**18.** Participants will have to make their own arrangements for accommodation.

**19.Tournament Committee:** The organizers will form a tournament committee for the smooth conduct of the tournament.

**20. Protests:** Protests if any, against the decision of the Chief Arbiter shall be made in writing with protest fee of Rs.500/- within 15 minutes of the completion of the game to the appeals committee. The protest fee will be refunded if the appeal is upheld.

**21. Withdrawals:** No participant will withdraw from the tournament without the permission of the Chief Arbiter.

**22. Rights of admission:** AICF/TNSCA reserve the right to admission to the venue. **23.Total Cash Prizes :Rs. 2.50 Lakhs** 

01. Rs. 35,000/- Plus Trophy	08. Rs. 6,000/-
02. Rs. 25,000/-	09. Rs. 5,000/-
03. Rs. 15,000/-	10. Rs. 4,000/-
04. Rs. 10,000/-	11to20 Rs. 3000/- each
05. Rs. 9,000/-	21to 25 Rs. 2500/- each
06. Rs. 8,000/-	26 <sup>th</sup> - 30 <sup>th</sup> Rs 2000/- each
07. Rs. 7,000/-	31 <sup>st</sup> - 40 <sup>th</sup> Rs.1500/- each

### Category Prize (Boys & Girls)

Best performer in each of the following categories will be awarded with Attractive Trophy (eligible only if the player has produced copy of Date of Birth certificate at the time of registering the entry). However a player will be eligible for only one prize. The decision of

the Tournament Committee will be the final on this.

Under 8 Born on or after 01.01.2015

Under 10 Born on or after 01.01.2013

Under 12 Born on or after 01.01.2011

Under 14 Born on or after 01.01.2009

**Rating Criteria:** 1601 to 1800, 1401 to 1600, 1201 to 1400,1000 to 1200 & Unrated 1.Rs.6000/-1.Rs.7000/-1.Rs,5000/-1.Rs.4000/-1.Rs.3000/-2.Rs.2500/ 2.Rs.5000/-2.Rs.4000/-2.Rs.3000/-2.Rs.3000/-3.Rs.3000/-3.Rs.2500/-3.Rs.2000/-3.Rs.2000/-3.Rs.2000/-

Best Women (Above 18 years) : Rs.1500/-Best Veteran (Above 60 years) : Rs. 1500/-Best Physically Disabled : Rs. 1500/ -In case of tie, cash prizes will not be shared.

#### 24. Previous Champions

1	2001	IM B.T.Muralikrishnan	12	2012	IM Himanshu Sharma
2	2002	2 IM R.Balasubramaniam		2013	IM P.Saravana Krishnan
3	2003	3 GM R.B.Ramesh		2014	IM T.U.NavinKanna
4	2004	GM M.R.Venkatesh	15	2015	IM R.Balasubramaniam
5	2005	IM R.Balasubramaniam	16	2016	R Ashwath
6	2006	IM D.P.Singh	17	2017	H Balasubramaniam
7	2007	FM C.J. Arvind	18	2018	R.A.Pradeep Kumar
8	2008	IM S. Nitin	19	2019	IM R.Balasubramaniam
9	2009	IM D.P.Singh	20	2022	IM R.Balasubramaniam
10	2010	IM Ragul Sangma	21	2023	It may be you???
11	2011	IM D.P.Singh			